Is duplicating keys a crime?

From a theoretical point of view, we can ask ourselves if the simple copy of a key (found in the street, entrusted to us, etc.) can constitute a crime.

Keys (CC Light Seeker)

Keys (CC Light Seeker)

Chapter 1. Protection sui-generis?

One might think that this copy is a kind of " flight ». Nevertheless, if you were given the key (because you had some work to do or you were renting the apartment), the criterion of fraudulent subtraction of the thing from others Does not seem to me to be311-1 penal code).

In a pinch, we can estimate that this copy could be a " breach of trust »(L314-1 penal code). Nevertheless, I find it difficult to consider that the simple copy can be done to the detriment of others ": The third party is not prejudiced by the copy as such - at best it is prejudiced by the use of this copy.

Since this copy is used fraudulently, the breach of trust may be constituted (by analogy with C. Cass. Crim., October 22, 2014, No. 13-82630). Moreover, a conviction for robbery in case of burglary is of course conceivable (311-1 penal code).

In any case, no offense is specific to the copying of keys of others.

[maj update = "07/10/15"] An informed reader tells me that the old penal code provided for a specific sanction for the reproduction of keys (399 old penal code repealed in 1994).

Nothing similar appears to exist in the " new »Penal code. [/ Maj]

Chapter 2. Protection by the Law of Industrial Property

Section 2.1. Findings of industrialists

Faced with this observation and the silence of the law, the manufacturers have imagined some devices to prevent the copy of their keys (and thus reassure customers).

Section 2.2. patents

2.2.1. Principle

The first of these devices is the use of patents.

Indeed, if a key contains a patent-protected element, any person who manufactures (L613-3 CPI a)) such a key would become a de facto infringer of the patent and could thus be condemned (L615-1 CPI) or criminally (L615-14 CPI).

2.2.2. Example

The best known example of such protection is the key Radial Cowhide.

Radial Cowhide Key

The moving part indicated above has (according to the patent which protects it, Patent EP0983411 B1) to make the manufacture of keys and the copy more difficult.

Indeed, using manufacturing tools " conventional "It is almost impossible to create this mobile part essential to the operation of the key and the corresponding lock.

Of course, this moving part also allows Vachette to have a monopoly of manufacturing these keys and to control the duplication of its keys.

2.2.3. weaknesses

First of all, it should be noted that a simple individual copying the key can not be pursued (L613-5 CPI at)). Only the locksmith (ie the professional) who has reproduced the key at the request of the individual can be continued.

In addition, the term of protection conferred by the patent is limited in time (ie 20 years from the deposit, L611-2 CPI). Then comes the question of the protection of the keys after the expiry of the patent ...

Section 2.3. Designs and models

2.3.1. Principle

It is also conceivable to protect one's keys with the protection of designs »(L511-1 CPI).

A copying person (ie manufacturer L513-4 CPI) a key covered by this deposit would then be a counterfeiter and could be prosecuted (L515-1 CPI or L521-1 CPI) or criminally (mentioned in L515-4 CPI).

2.3.2. Example

Some models of Vachette Radial keys are also covered by a model depot (model FR n ° 994929):

Deposit of a key model Cowhide (n ° 994929)

Deposit of a key model Cowhide (n ° 994929)

2.3.3. weaknesses

As for patents, it should be noted that a single person copying the key can not be prosecuted (L513-6 CPI at)). Only the locksmith (ie the professional) who has reproduced the key at the request of the individual can be continued.

Moreover, to be a counterfeiter, it is necessary that the copy the informed observer " a " overall visual impression »Close to that of the original key (L513-5 CPI). Therefore, it is relatively easy to substantially modify the key (especially in Non-technical ", Ie the part that is held in hand) to escape the model deposited.

In addition, the article L511-8 CPI however, provides that:

Not susceptible to protection:

1 ° The appearance whose characteristics are exclusively imposed by the technical function of the product;

2 ° the appearance of a product whose exact shape and size must necessarily be reproduced so that it can be mechanically associated with another product by contacting, connecting, placing inside or outside in conditions allowing each of these products to fulfill its function.

However, it is very likely that the appearance of the functional parts of a key (barrel, bit, etc.) is exclusively dictated by the function that is his, that is to say, open and close a particular lock. In addition, the appearance of these parts of the key must necessarily match the configuration of the pins of the lock so that the key and the lock function together. Also, it is to be feared that the shape of these elements can not be validly protected by a design.

Finally, as for patents, the protection is limited in time. The protection granted by the registration of a design and model is 5 years renewable up to a maximum of 25 years (L513-1 CPI): again the question of protection after the expiry of the model arises.

Section 2.4. brands

2.4.1. Principle

In view of the limited duration of protection of the other industrial property titles mentioned above, manufacturers have sought to protect their keys by means of trademarks.

Indeed, the term of protection is virtually infinite (renewable every 10 years indefinitely L712-1 CPI).

A person reproducing the mark (L713-2 CPI and L713-3 CPI) would then be a counterfeiter and could be prosecutedL716-1 CPI) or criminally (mentioned in L716-6 CPI).

2.4.2. Example

Let's take another example from our friends Vachette. On their website, he tells us that their AXI'Home keys are protected by the filing of a three-dimensional mark.

After a little research, it turns out that the mark in question is the brand FR n ° 3355870 :

Brand Vachette three-dimensional n ° 3355870

Brand Vachette three-dimensional n ° 3355870

This mark is supposed to reproduce the "V" of the Vachette logo:

Logo Vachette

Logo Vachette

In practice their key looks like this (the red line is only used to emphasize the outline of the section, because to be honest, it is difficult to distinguish it):

2.4.3. Weakness

We can really ask ourselves if such a three-dimensional mark is valid.

To be valid, a mark must include:

  • have a distinctive character for the reference consumer (L711-1 CPI);
  • not be dictated only by the shape of the product (L712-2 CPI c)) and its technical considerations.

In this case, I do not think that this is the case and I will detail each of these points below.

In introduction, it should be known that Vachette (or to be more exact Assa Abloy Limited) has also filed a Community mark No 004711669.

This mark has been refused by OHIM (see Decision of 21 August 2007 of the OHIM, R 0345 / 2007-2) because this office considers that the mark is devoid of distinctive character for the general public (Article 7 (1) (b), of Council Regulation (EC) No 40/94 of 20 December 1993 on the Community trade mark) which can not easily identify the mark applied for within the key :

The signs referred to in that provision are incapable of performing the essential function of the mark, namely that ofidentify the origin of the product or service, so that the consumer who acquires the product or service that the mark designates to make, at a subsequent acquisition, the same choice if the experience is positive or to make another choice if it turns negative [...]

In order for the public to be able to perceive a form as a distinctive sign, the form in question must have characteristics sufficiently unusual and extraneous to the field in question to strike particularly its attention. [...]

This form is described in the CTM application form, filed on October 26, 2005, as the reproduction of the "V symbolized VACHETTE". However, the Chamber considers that it is rather difficult to perceive this symbol in the mark applied for. The consumer should demonstrate a good dose of imagination and methodical analysis before he perceives any resemblance between the sign in dispute and the plaintiff's symbol.

Moreover, and in my opinion, this mark could also have been refused under Article 7 (1) (e) of the Council Regulation (EC) No 40/94 of 20 December 1993 on the Community trade mark (ie rejection if the mark consists exclusively of elements imposed by " the shape of the product necessary to obtain a technical result"): Indeed, it is a safe bet that, if the section of the key is modified (ie form of the mark), the key will not work in the lock (ie makes inoperative the expected technical result: the opening of the door).

Therefore, it is quite likely that the French mark FR n ° 3355870 is not considered valid by a French court if a thorough analysis is made (and in particular if the decision of the OHIM was put under his nose).

In the meantime, this brand remains in effect.

2.4.4. Other examples

Vachette is not the only one to have filed three-dimensional marks to protect his keys.

Here is a small anthology of brands that I could find.

The Community Trade Mark No 8944183 from the TITAN company whose section writes overall »The name of the company:

TITAN key section

TITAN key section

The Community mark No 013095039 from the company KABA (brand refused) which would make think of the Matterhorn mountain of the Swiss Alps (it takes a good dose of imagination to see it).

Key section KABA

Key section KABA

Matterhorn Mountain (CC Wikimedia)

Mountain Matterhorn (CC Wikimedia)

The international trademark No. W10707697 of the CES group (Ed. Schulte GmbH Zylinderschloßfabrik) whose section reproduces the name of the group.

Registered trademark for the CES key section

Registered trademark for the CES key section

Section of the CES key

Section of the CES key

The brand FR n ° 3215286 Fossier Carmine to protect its TARA profile (note: the Community mark No 003360922 corresponding entry was refused under Article 7 (1) (b) Council Regulation (EC) No 40/94 of 20 December 1993 on the Community trade mark ie distinctiveness).

TARA key profile of Fossier Carmine

TARA key profile of Fossier Carmine

The brand FR n ° 3922536 or the brand FR n ° 3908341 JPM SAS company aims to protect the section of the key, I quote " which, taken in the reverse symmetry of the center and the upper edges, has an appearance that resembles the silhouette of the letters JPM (I'll let you look ...)

The section of the JPM key

The section of the JPM key

In short, you will understand, I am relatively skeptical about the validity of such brands (see the criteria mentioned above).

Leave a Reply

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Dupliquer des clefs est-il un délit ?

D’un point de vue théorique, nous pouvons nous demander si la simple copie d’une clef (que l’on a trouvé dans la rue, que l’on nous a confié, etc.) peut être constitutif d’un délit.

Clefs (CC Light Seeker)

Clefs (CC Light Seeker1)

Chapitre 1. Protection sui-generis ?

On pourrait croire que cette copie est une sorte de « vol » . Néanmoins, si on vous a remis la clef (car vous aviez des travaux à faire ou que vous étiez locataire de l’appartement), le critère de « soustraction frauduleuse de la chose d’autrui » ne me semble pas rempli (311-1 code pénal2).

A la rigueur, nous pouvons estimer que cette copie pourrait être un « abus de confiance » (L314-1 code pénal3). Néanmoins, j’ai du mal à considérer que la simple copie puisse être fait « au préjudice d’autrui » : le tiers ne subit aucun préjudice du fait de la copie en tant que tel – au mieux il subit un préjudice du fait de l’utilisation de cette copie.

Dès lors que cette copie est utilisé frauduleusement, l’abus de confiance peut être constitué (par analogie avec C. Cass. crim., 22 octobre 2014, n°13-826304). Par ailleurs, une condamnation pour vol en cas de cambriolage est bien entendu envisageable (311-1 code pénal2).

En tout état de cause, aucun délit n’est propre à la copie de clefs d’autrui.

Mise à jour : 7 octobre 2015

Un lecteur averti m’indique que le code pénal ancien prévoyait une sanction spécifique pour la reproduction de clefs (399 code pénal ancien5 abrogé en 1994).

Rien de similaire ne semble exister dans le « nouveau » code pénal.

Chapitre 2. Protection par le droit de la propriété industrielle

Section 2.1. Constats des industriels

Devant ce constat et le silence de la loi, les industriels ont imaginé certains artifices pour empêcher la copie de leurs clefs (et ainsi rassurer les clients).

Section 2.2. Brevets

2.2.1. Principe

Le premier de ces artifices est l’utilisation de brevets d’invention.

En effet, si une clef comporte un élément protégé par brevet, toute personne qui fabriquerait (L613-3 CPI6 a)) une telle clef deviendrait de fait contrefacteur du brevet et pourrait ainsi être condamnée civilement (L615-1 CPI7) ou pénalement (L615-14 CPI8).

2.2.2. Exemple

L’exemple le plus connu d’une telle protection est la clef Vachette Radial.

Clef Vachette Radial

La pièce mobile indiquée ci-dessus a pour objet (selon le brevet qui le protège, Brevet EP0983411 B19) de rendre plus difficile la fabrication des clefs et la copie.

En effet, à l’aide d’outils de fabrication « classiques » , il est quasi impossible de créer cette pièce mobile indispensable au fonctionnement de la clef et de la serrure correspondante.

Bien entendu, cette pièce mobile permet également à Vachette d’avoir un monopole de fabrication de ces clefs et de contrôler la duplication de ses clefs.

2.2.3. Faiblesses

Tout d’abord, il faut noter qu’un simple particulier copiant la clef ne peut être poursuivi (L613-5 CPI10 a)). Seul le serrurier (i.e. le professionnel) qui a reproduit la clef à la demande du particulier pourra être poursuivi.

Par ailleurs, la durée de protection conférée par le brevet est limitée dans le temps (i.e. 20 ans à compter du dépôt, L611-2 CPI11). Se pose alors la question de la protection des clefs après l’expiration du brevet…

Section 2.3. Dessins et modèles

2.3.1. Principe

Il est également envisageable de protéger ses clefs à l’aide de la protection dite des « dessins et modèles » (L511-1 CPI12).

Une personne copiant (i.e. fabriquant L513-4 CPI13) une clef couverte par ce dépôt serait alors contrefacteur et pourrait être poursuivie civilement (L515-1 CPI14 ou L521-1 CPI15) ou pénalement (évoqué en L515-4 CPI16).

2.3.2. Exemple

Certains modèles de clefs Vachette Radial sont également couverts par un dépôt de modèle (modèle FR n°99492917) :

Dépôt d'un modèle de clef Vachette (n°994929)

Dépôt d’un modèle de clef Vachette (n°994929)

2.3.3. Faiblesses

Comme pour les brevets, il faut noter qu’un simple particulier copiant la clef ne peut être poursuivi (L513-6 CPI18 a)). Seul le serrurier (i.e. le professionnel) qui a reproduit la clef à la demande du particulier pourra être poursuivi.

Par ailleurs, pour être contrefacteur, il est nécessaire que la copie suscite chez « l’observateur averti » une « impression visuelle d’ensemble » proche de celle de la clef originale (L513-5 CPI19). Dès lors, il est relativement aisé de modifier substantiellement la clef (surtout dans sa partie « non-technique » , i.e. la partie que l’on tient en main) pour échapper au modèle déposé.

En outre, l’article L511-8 CPI20 prévoit toutefois que :

N’est pas susceptible de protection :

1° L’apparence dont les caractéristiques sont exclusivement imposées par la fonction technique du produit ;

2° L’apparence d’un produit dont la forme et la dimension exactes doivent être nécessairement reproduites pour qu’il puisse être mécaniquement associé à un autre produit par une mise en contact, un raccordement, un placement à l’intérieur ou à l’extérieur dans des conditions permettant à chacun de ces produits de remplir sa fonction.

Or, il est fort probable que l’aspect des parties fonctionnelles d’une clé (canon, panneton, etc) soit exclusivement dicté par la fonction qui est la sienne, c’est-à-dire ouvrir et fermer une serrure particulière. De surcroît, l’aspect de ces parties de la clé devra nécessairement correspondre à la configuration des goupilles de la serrure afin que la clé et la serrure fonctionnent ensemble. Aussi, il est à redouter que la forme de ces éléments ne puisse être valablement protégée par un dessin ou modèle.

Enfin, comme pour les brevets, la protection est limitée dans le temps. La protection accordée par l’enregistrement d’un dessin et modèle est de 5 ans renouvelables jusqu’à un maximum de 25 ans (L513-1 CPI21) : encore une fois se pose la question de la protection après l’expiration du modèle.

Section 2.4. Marques

2.4.1. Principe

Devant la durée de protection limitée des autres de titres de propriété industrielle mentionnés précédemment, les industriels ont cherché à protéger leurs clefs à l’aide de marques.

En effet, la durée de protection est virtuellement infinie (renouvelable tous les 10 ans indéfiniment L712-1 CPI22).

Une personne reproduisant la marque (L713-2 CPI23 et L713-3 CPI24) serait alors contrefacteur et pourrait être poursuivi civilement (L716-1 CPI25) ou pénalement (évoqué en L716-6 CPI26).

2.4.2. Exemple

Prenons encore un exemple chez nos amis Vachette. Sur leur site, il nous indique que leurs clefs AXI’Home27 sont protégées par le dépôt d’une marque tridimensionnel.

Après une petite recherche, il s’avère que la marque en question est la marque FR n°335587028 :

Marque Vachette tridimensionnelle n°3355870

Marque Vachette tridimensionnelle n°3355870

Cette marque est censée reproduire le « V » du logo de Vachette :

Logo Vachette

Logo Vachette

En pratique leur clef ressemble à ceci (la ligne rouge est seulement utilisée pour mettre en valeur le contour de la section, car pour être honnête, il est difficile de la distinguer) :

2.4.3. Faiblesse

Nous pouvons véritablement nous demander si une telle marque tridimensionnelle est valide.

Pour être valide, une marque doit notamment :

  • avoir un caractère distinctif pour le consommateur de référence (L711-1 CPI29) ;
  • ne pas être dicté que par la forme du produit (L712-2 CPI30 c)) et ses considérations techniques.

En l’espèce, je ne pense pas que cela soit le cas et je vais détailler chacun de ces points ci-dessous.

En introduction, il faut ainsi savoir que Vachette (ou pour être plus exacte Assa Abloy Limited) a également déposé une marque communautaire n°00471166931.

Cette marque a été refusée par l’OHMI (voir la décision du 21 aout 2007 de l’OHMI, R 0345/2007-232) car cet office considère que la marque est dépourvue de caractère distinctif pour le grand public (article 7(1) b), du règlement (CE) n° 40/94 du Conseil du 20 décembre 1993 sur la marque communautaire33) qui ne saurait identifier facilement la marque demandée au sein de la clef :

Les signes visés par cette disposition sont incapables d’exercer la fonction essentielle de la marque, à savoir celle d’identifier l’origine du produit ou du service, afin de permettre ainsi au consommateur qui acquiert le produit ou le service que la marque désigne de faire, lors d’une acquisition ultérieure, le même choix si l’expérience s’avère positive ou de faire un autre choix si elle s’avère négative [… ]

Pour que le public soit à même de percevoir une forme comme un signe distinctif, il faut que la forme en cause présente des caractéristiques suffisamment inhabituelles et étrangères au domaine en cause pour frapper particulièrement son attention. [… ]

Cette forme est décrite dans le formulaire de demande de marque communautaire, déposée le 26 octobre 2005, comme la reproduction du « V symbolisé de VACHETTE » . Toutefois, la Chambre estime qu’il est assez difficile de percevoir ce symbole dans la marque demandée. Il faudrait que le consommateur fasse preuve d’une bonne dose d’imagination et d’analyse méthodique avant qu’il ne perçoive une quelconque ressemblance entre le signe en litige et le symbole de la demanderesse.

Par ailleurs, et selon mon opinion propre, cette marque aurait également pu être refusée au titre de l’article 7(1) e) du règlement (CE) n° 40/94 du Conseil du 20 décembre 1993 sur la marque communautaire33 (i.e. rejet si la marque est constituée exclusivement d’éléments imposés par « la forme du produit nécessaire à l’obtention d’un résultat technique« ) : en effet, il est fort à parier que, si la section de la clef est modifiée (i.e. forme de la marque), la clef ne fonctionnera pas dans la serrure (i.e. rend inopérant le résultat technique attendu : l’ouverture de la porte).

Dès lors, il est assez probable que la marque française FR n°335587028 ne soit pas considérée comme valide par un tribunal français si une analyse poussée était faite (et notamment si la décision de l’OHMI lui était mise sous le nez).

En attendant, cette marque reste en vigueur.

2.4.4. Autres exemples

Vachette n’est pas le seul à avoir déposé des marques tridimensionnelles pour protéger ses clefs.

Voici un petit florilège des marques que j’ai pu trouver.

La marque communautaire n°894418331 de la société TITAN dont la section écrit « globalement » le nom de la société :

Section de clef TITAN

Section de clef TITAN

La marque communautaire n°01309503931 de la société KABA (marque refusée) qui ferait penser à la montagne Matterhorn des Alpes suisses (il faut une bonne dose d’imagination pour le voir).

Section de clef KABA

Section de clef KABA

Montagne Matterhorn (CC Wikimedia)

Montagne Matterhorn (CC Wikimedia34)

La marque internationale n°W1070769731 du groupe CES (C. Ed. Schulte GmbH Zylinderschloßfabrik) dont la section reproduit le nom du groupe.

Marque déposée pour la section de la clef CES

Marque déposée pour la section de la clef CES

Section de la clef CES

Section de la clef CES

La marque FR n°321528635 de la société Fossier Carmine afin de protéger son profil TARA (note : la marque communautaire n°00336092231 correspondante a été refusée au titre de l’article 7(1)(b) règlement (CE) n° 40/94 du Conseil du 20 décembre 1993 sur la marque communautaire33 i.e. caractère distinctif).

Profil de clef TARA de Fossier Carmine

Profil de clef TARA de Fossier Carmine

La marque FR n°392253636 ou la marque FR n°390834137 de la société JPM SAS vise à protéger la section de la clef, je cite « qui, pris à la symétrie inverse du centre et des bordures supérieures, a une apparence qui ressemble à la silhouette des lettres JPM » (je vous laisse chercher… ).

La section de la clef JPM

La section de la clef JPM

Bref, vous l’aurez compris, je suis relativement sceptique quant à la validité de telles marques (cf. les critères mentionnés ci-avant).

L'URL courte pour partager cet article est: https://sedlex.fr/zlWNZ

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

CAPTCHA*

Merci de taper les caractères de l'image Captcha dans le champ