Five liters of petrol minimum!

In many service stations we can read "Minimum delivery 5 liters".

Is it ok?

Fuel pump (cc madanelu)

Fuel pump (cc madanelu)

Chapter 1. The context

Who has not already seen a mention "Minimum delivery 5 liters"On the fuel pumps?

livraisonMinimal5L If in practice, this restriction does not bother us too much (except some scooters, it seems), it is legitimate to ask us if this measure is legal?

Chapter 2. The prohibition of tied selling

Section 2.1. The principle

TheArticle L122-1 of the Consumer Code has:

It's forbidden to deny a consumer the sale of a product or the provision of a service, except for a legitimate reason, and to subordinate the sale of a product to the purchase of an imposed quantity or the concurrent purchase of another product or service and to make the provision of a service subject to that of another service or the purchase of a product where such unfair commercial practice within the meaning of Article L. 120-1.

This article applies to the activities mentioned inArticle L113-2 of the Consumer Code, that is, in particular, to all production, distribution and service activities.

Section 2.2. Is there a waiver for gasoline sales?

To my knowledge, there are no exemptions for service stations!

Therefore, the fact of making the purchase of gasoline to a predetermined quantity seems very abusive.

Section 2.3. "Except for legitimate reasons"?

It is possible to read on the Internet that the prohibition mentioned above (ie the subordination of the sale to an imposed quantity) could be limited in the event of a "legitimate reason” .

In fact, I think this is wrong (and the Court of Appeal of Versailles seems to go in the same direction, Court of Appeal of Versailles, January 30, 2014, file no.13 / 00036).

Indeed, the position of the phrase "except legitimate reason" of the'Article L122-1 of the Consumer Code is located before the conjunction "and"And thus seems to apply only to the refusal of sale.

Section 2.4. Sanction

TheArticle R121-13 of the Consumer Code 2 °, makes the refusal of sale (or conditional subordination) a contravention punishable by a fine of 5th class, that is to say a maximum of 1 500 euros (3 000 euros in case of recidivism ) (Article 131-13 of the Penal Code). 

6 Comments:

  1. The "guns" (actually called "Road Measuring Package - EMR") are checked every year and the small green sticker next to each EMR attests to it. This control is carried out by Approved Organizations (OA) by the Ministry of Industry. The agents of the DIRECCTE / Service of the legal metrology are in charge of the control of these OA.
    The tolerance is actually 0.5% but the verifier MUST adjust it to 0.1% during its Periodic Verification (PV).
    The indication "Minimum delivery 5L (or 2L)" does not prevent absolutely to buy a smaller quantity. This is the minimum value from which the manufacturer guarantees the accuracy of the meter.
    The mention "[...] only the display is authentic" means that in the event of a difference between the printed ticket and / or the indication at the kiosk and the display at the pump, the latter will prevail.

    An agent of the Legal Metrology Service

    References :
    * Order No. 45-2405 of 18/10/1945 relating to the measurement of the volume of liquids
    * Order of 28/06/2002 laying down certain procedures for the metrological control of EMLAE
    * Circular No. 93.00.110.00.1 of 11/08/1993 on the control of in-service measuring instruments belonging to certain categories of instruments (Ministry of Industry)

  2. Your comments are inaccurate. The fuel pumps are all wrong because the Directorate of Customs and Indirect Rights authorizes an error of 5% more or less on the distribution of fuel and this regardless of the amount distributed for the simple reason that under the effect heat the fuel occupies a larger volume. This abusive mention has nothing to do with the correctness of the measure: it is linked to a question of profitability for the distributor.

  3. I can not agree with your comment on this article very well written! The mention minimum delivery 5 liters has nothing to do with the correctness of the meters. The pumps are calibrated and verified by the State services and this regardless of the amount delivered. Only a low tolerance exists, related to the temperature, because the fuel expands or retracts according to the latter. The mention "minimum delivery 5 liters" has for only purpose to push you to buy a given quantity, which is therefore totally illegal.

  4. I agree with the analysis; however, everyone knows that even if it is marked that the minimum sale is 5 liters, it is possible to buy less! And without penalty of any kind.

    In fact, I think that the minimum of 5 liters mentioned on the pumps, characterizes the conditions of use of the volumetric meters, for which the precision is guaranteed.

    Another way of saying it is that if you use 0.01 liter (as displayed on the meter), the administration having checked the accuracy of the pump and the display mechanism does not guarantee that the delivered volume will be consistent, within the limit of the guaranteed accuracy.
    .
    If you want to fill your gasoline lighter, and you find that the pump at the bottom of your home makes you pay 0.03 euro, or place of 0.02 euro, you can not turn against Total or against the administration.

    • I totally agree with Alain. This statement is to indicate the quantity from which the accuracy of the measure is guaranteed. Below 5 liters, this one is not guaranteed and nothing can be reproached to the pump attendant in case of precision error. There is no scam or incentive to consume. If we take only one liter (ex for a 2 wheels) we will pay only one liter but we can not complain about having had 0.01% less or more elsewhere.

      • Your comments are inaccurate. The fuel pumps are all wrong because the Directorate of Customs and Indirect Rights authorizes an error of 5% more or less on the distribution of fuel and this regardless of the amount distributed for the simple reason that under the effect heat the fuel occupies a larger volume. This abusive mention has nothing to do with the correctness of the measure: it is linked to a question of profitability for the distributor.

Leave a Reply

Your e-mail address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Cinq litres d’essence minimum !

Dans de nombreuses stations-service, nous pouvons lire « Livraison minimale 5 litres » .

Est-ce bien autorisé ?

Pompe à essence (cc madanelu)

Pompe à essence (cc madanelu1)

Chapitre 1. Le contexte

Qui n’a pas déjà vu une mention « Livraison minimale 5 litres » sur les pompes à essence ?

livraisonMinimal5LSi en pratique, cette restriction ne nous gène pas trop (sauf certains scooters, il paraît), il est légitime de nous demander si cette mesure est bien légale ?

Chapitre 2. L’interdiction des ventes liées

Section 2.1. Le principe

L’article L122-1 du code de la consommation2 dispose :

Il est interdit de refuser à un consommateur la vente d’un produit ou la prestation d’un service, sauf motif légitime, et de subordonner la vente d’un produit à l’achat d’une quantité imposée ou à l’achat concomitant d’un autre produit ou d’un autre service ainsi que de subordonner la prestation d’un service à celle d’un autre service ou à l’achat d’un produit dès lors que cette subordination constitue une pratique commerciale déloyale au sens de l’article L. 120-1.

Cet article s’applique aux activités mentionnées à l’article L113-2 du code de la consommation3, c’est-à-dire en particulier, à toutes les activités de production, de distribution et de services.

Section 2.2. Existe-t-il une dérogation pour les ventes d’essence ?

À ma connaissance, il n’existe aucune dérogation pour les stations-service !

Dès lors, le fait de subordonner l’achat d’essence à une quantité prédéterminée semble bien abusif.

Section 2.3. « Sauf motif légitime » ?

Il est possible de lire sur Internet que la prohibition mentionnée ci-dessus (i.e. subordination de la vente à une quantité imposée) pourrait être limitée dans l’hypothèse d’un « motif légitime » .

En réalité, je pense que cela est faux (et la Cour d’appel de Versailles semble aller dans le même sens, Cour d’appel de Versailles, 30 janvier 2014, dossier n°13/000364).

En effet, la position de la locution « sauf motif légitime » de l’article L122-1 du code de la consommation2 est située avant la conjonction « et » et ne semble ainsi s’appliquer qu’au refus de vente.

Section 2.4. Sanction

L’article R121-13 du code de la consommation5 2°, fait du refus de vente (ou de la subordination à conditions) une contravention punie d’une amende de 5e classe, c’est-à-dire d’un maximum de 1 500 euros (3 000 euros en cas de récidive) (article 131-13 du code pénal6). 

L'URL courte pour partager cet article est: https://sedlex.fr/mlPcQ

6 commentaires

  1. Les « pistolets » (en vérité appelé « Ensemble de mesurage routiers – EMR) sont contrôlés tous les ans et la petite vignette verte située à côté de chaque EMR en atteste. Ce contrôle est réalisé par des Organismes agréés (OA) par le Ministère de l’Industrie. Les agents de la DIRECCTE/Service de la métrologie légale sont en charge du contrôle de ces OA.
    La tolérance est en réalité de 0,5% mais le vérificateur DOIT l’ajuster à 0,1% lors de sa Vérification périodique (VP).
    L’indication « Livraison minimale 5L (ou 2L) » n’empêche absolument pas d’acheter une quantité inférieure. Il s’agit de la valeur minimum à partir de laquelle le fabricant garantis l’exactitude du volucompteur.
    La mention « […] seule l’affichage fait foi » veut dire qu’en cas de différence entre le ticket imprimé et/ou l’indication au kiosque et l’affichage à la pompe c’est ce dernier qui fera foi.

    Un agent du Service métrologie légale

    Références :
    * Ordonnance n°45-2405 du 18/10/1945 relative au mesurage du volume des liquides
    * Arrêté du 28/06/2002 fixant certaines modalités du contrôle métrologique des EMLAE
    * Circulaire n°93.00.110.00.1 du 11/08/1993 relative au contrôle des instruments de mesure en service appartenant à certaines catégories d’instruments (Ministère de l’Industrie)

  2. Vos commentaires sont inexacts. Les pompes à carburant sont toutes fausses car la Direction des Douanes et droits indirects autorise une erreur de 5% en plus ou en moins sur la distribution de carburant et ceci quelle que soit la quantité distribuée pour la bonne et simple raison que sous l’effet de la chaleur le carburant occupe un volume plus important. Cette mention abusive n’a aucun rapport avec la justesse de la mesure : elle est liée à une question de rentabilité pour le distributeur.

  3. Je ne peux pas abonder dans le sens de votre commentaire sur cet article très bien rédigé !La mention livraison minimale 5 litres n’a aucun rapport avec la justesse des compteurs. Les pompes sont calibrées et vérifiées par les services de l’Etat et ceci quel que soit le montant délivré. Seule une faible tolérance existe, liée à la température, car le carburant se dilate ou se rétracte en fonction de cette dernière.La mention « livraison minimale 5 litres » a pour seul but de vous pousser à acheter une quantité donnée, ce qui est donc totalement illégal.

  4. Je suis d’accord avec l’analyse ; toutefois, chacun sait que même s’il est marqué que la vente minimale est de 5 litres, il est possible d’acheter moins ! Et ce, sans pénalité d’aucune sorte.

    En fait, je pense que le minimum de 5 litres mentionné sur les pompes, caractérise les conditions d’usage des compteurs volumétriques, pour lesquelles la précision est garantie.

    Une autre façon de le dire, c’est que si vous vous servez 0,01 litre (tel qu’affiché au compteur), l’administration ayant vérifié l’exactitude de la pompe et des mécanismes d’affichage ne vous garantit que le volume délivré sera conforme, dans la limite de la précision garantie.
    .
    Si dont vous voulez remplir votre briquet à essence, et que vous constatez que la pompe en bas de chez vous vous fait payer 0,03 euro, ou lieu de 0,02 euro, vous ne pourrez pas vous retourner contre Total ou contre l’administration.

    • Je suis tout a fait d accord avec Alain. Cette mention est la pour indiquer la quantite a partir de laquelle la justesse de la mesure est garantie. En dessous de 5 litres, celle ci n est pas garantie et rien ne peut etre reproche au pompiste en cas d erreur de precision. Il n y a aucune arnaque ou incitation a la consommation. Si on ne prend qu un litre (ex pour un 2 roues) on ne paiera qu un litre mais on ne pourra pas se plaindre d en avoir eu 0,01% en moins ou en plus d ailleurs.

      • Vos commentaires sont inexacts. Les pompes à carburant sont toutes fausses car la Direction des Douanes et droits indirects autorise une erreur de 5% en plus ou en moins sur la distribution de carburant et ceci quelle que soit la quantité distribuée pour la bonne et simple raison que sous l’effet de la chaleur le carburant occupe un volume plus important. Cette mention abusive n’a aucun rapport avec la justesse de la mesure : elle est liée à une question de rentabilité pour le distributeur.

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

CAPTCHA*

Merci de taper les caractères de l'image Captcha dans le champ